Gamma Psi Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® was chartered on October 28, 1944 by sixteen of Gary, Indiana’s most illustrious women. The “Sweet Sixteen” who had the “vision fair” were:

Clemette Armstrong
Ferne Browne
Genevieve H. Gray
Evangeline Morse

Ruth H. Battle
Alice Butts
Mabel Haywood
Frances Renfroe

Katherine Beckman
Bennie N. Collins
Clareon Hinkson
Jane L. Schell

Kathleen Bingham
Margaret Graham
Joyce T. Morgan
Johnnie Upshaw

Aside from being the first chapter chartered in Northwest Indiana, Gamma Psi Omega Chapter was also the first chapter in Gary to have a member hold a national office. Gladys Bufkin-Johnson served as the International Treasurer in the 1950s.

For more than 77 years, Gamma Psi Omega has exemplified excellence in service to Northwest Indiana through active programming. Such programs and activities include Pink Goes Red (for heart disease), collecting shoes and eyeglasses for Global Impact Days, Diabetes Alert Day, Breast Cancer Impact Day, Care for the Caregivers, serving high school students through #CAP (College Admissions Process), Women’s Health initiatives, Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service, and providing scholarships for graduating high school seniors.

Gamma Psi Omega is an award-winning Central Region chapter and has been honored on both the regional and international levels. Gamma Psi Omega is also the home chapter of the world-renowned singing choral group the “Ivy Notes”. The Ivy Notes have performed at regional and international conferences and have been lauded by Regional Directors and International Presidents.

Under the leadership of thirty-two presidents, Gamma Psi Omega Chapter has been steadfast in her excellent service to the Northwest Indiana community.

Past Presidents of Gamma Psi Omega Chapter

Frances Renfroe 1944-1945
Ruth Battle 1946-1946
Jane Schell 1947-1947
Joyce T. Morgan 1948-1949
Clareon Hinkson 1950-1951
Gladys Johnson 1951-1952
Jean Washington 1953-1954
Hattie Leonard 1954-1956
Alberta Newsome 1956-1957
Freda Coney 1958-1959
YJean Chambers 1960-1963
Clytee Gibbs 1964-1965
Coleen Williams 1966-1967
Bloomie Kirkland 1968-1969
Emogene McMurtrey 1970-1971
Ferne Browne 1972-1973

Ollie Mackey 1974-1975
Clemette Armstrong 1976-1977
Ollie G. Minor 1978-1979
Ruth G. Hoyle 1980-1981
Diane Ross Boswell 1982-1983
Opal Burleson 1984-1985
Alyverne Coopwood 1986-1989
Willie Mae Tyler 1990-1991
Janis E. Culver 1992-1994
Risë Ross-Ratney 1995-1997
Nina Graham 1998-2000
Lori Benford-Bryant 2000-2005
Dolena Mack 2006-2009
Ida L. Gillis 2010-2013
Kellauna Mack 2014-2017
Quanda M. Davis 2018-2021